Home Web timeline Google is tracking you, but there are ways to try and stop it

Google is tracking you, but there are ways to try and stop it

0

Where you are going, Google knows. Here’s how to keep him from knowing where you are all the time.

Getty Images

Using any of Google’s apps on your iPhone or Android phone means you are likely being tracked. While disabling Location History from your Google Account is a good place to start, you may not be clear yet. Some Google apps may still be store your location dataand just open the Google Maps app or use Google search on any platform to save your approximate location with a timestamp.

In a January lawsuit against the search engine giant, Google has been sued by multiple states due to its use of location data. They allege that Google makes it “almost impossible” for people to prevent their location from being tracked.

technical-advice-logo-badge.png

After a survey conducted in 2018 by the Associated PressGoogle has added features to make it easier to control location and other saved data, and what gets deleted with features like Your data in Maps and Search, which give you quick access to your location commands. However, DC Attorney General Karl Racine said, “Google falsely misled consumers into believing that changing their account and device settings would allow customers to protect their privacy and control the personal data they receive. the company could access”. Google has since defended itself.

We’ll explain how to opt out of Google tracking and what the results will be. We’ll update this story as more news develops.


Now Playing:
Look at this:

Prevent Google from storing your location and historical data…


4:34

Disable Google location tracking

To completely disable Google’s ability to log your location, here’s what you can do:

1. Open Google.com on your desktop or mobile browser, and sign in to your Google account using the button in the upper right corner.

2. Click on your user icon in the upper right corner and select Manage your Google Account.

3. Click on Privacy and personalization.

4. Click on The things you’ve done and the places you’ve been.

5. Click on Location history inside of History settings box. This opens Activity checks.

6. Under Location Storyclick on the button on the right that says Switch off. This opens a pop-up window.

7. Scroll to the bottom of this window and click Pause.

Turning off Location History only deletes where you’ve been since Google Maps Timeline feature, which saves your location with certain data at a specific time. from google support page about it says that even when turned off, “some location data may continue to be recorded in other settings,” such as your web and app activity. Google told us that it uses this data to make features more personalized and useful, and that this information is never shared with third parties or advertisers. But if you’re still not comfortable with this, with a few extra steps you can usually prevent Google from knowing where you are 24/7.

google-maps-logo-phone

Prevent Google from storing your locations from Maps.

Angela Lang/CBS

What prevents Google from storing?

Suspending this setting prevents Google from storing location markers associated with specific actions and stops storing information collected from searches or other activity. If you turn it off, your approximate location remains private, and other places you go, like your home address.

Note that to effectively use certain features, like the Maps app, Google will still need access to your location. However, performing the above steps prevents it from storing any future activity. When Google timestamps your activity in a general area, it spans over 1 square mile with typically over 1,000 users to protect privacy. from google help page about that, it helps them detect unusual activity, like logging in from another city, while maintaining privacy.

However, you can allow Google to use your precise location — your exact location, such as a specific address — to get the best search results where you are.

Advantages and disadvantages of disabling Google tracking

Disabling this default setting has some drawbacks. While Google’s settings may seem intrusive to some, they also help cultivate an ultra-personalized online experience, like helping people find nearby businesses instead of those in another city, or seeing personalized ads . They help give users more relevant information instead of random information, according to Google.

Disabling tracking means you’ll see less relevant ads, less helpful search recommendations, and overall a less personalized experience using the search engine and its apps and services. For those who like personalized ads, opting out of tracking will prevent Google from predicting what might interest you. However, for those who value privacy above all else, disabling this setting may be worth the loss of specificity.

The bottom line: You may lose your privacy and lose the personalized Internet experience, or continue to see relevant ads and search suggestions instead of more random, unfiltered information.


Now Playing:
Look at this:

Google knows where you are


6:00

Delete Old Location History

Disabling tracking will prevent Google from storing new location information, but it will not delete any previously collected data. Here’s how to delete this information:

1. Open Google.com on your desktop or mobile browser, and sign in to your Google account using the button in the upper right corner.

2. Once logged in, click on your user icon in the upper right corner and select Manage your Google Account.

3. Click on Privacy and personalization.

4. Click on The things you’ve done and the places you’ve been.

5. Click on Location history inside of History settings box. This opens Activity checks.

6. Click on Manage history near the bottom of the page. This opens a map with a timeline in the upper left corner. The map shows where you have been and the timeline shows where you were at what time.

7. To delete your location on a certain date, click the date in the timeline. This date will then be displayed below the timeline. Click it waste icon to the right of the date. In the pop-up window, click Delete day.

8. To delete all of your location history at once, click the waste icon near the lower right corner of the map. In the pop-up window, click the box that says I understand and want to delete all location history. Click on Delete location history.

Prevent Google from collecting your web and app activity

When you create a new Google Account, Google minimizes the amount of data it collects by can only be kept for 18 months default web and app activity – anything older than that is automatically deleted. Here’s how to stop Google from collecting your future web and app activity:

1. Open Google.com on your desktop or mobile browser, and sign in to your Google account using the button in the upper right corner.

2. Once logged in, click on your user icon in the upper right corner and select Manage your Google Account.

3. Click on Privacy and personalization.

4. Click on The things you’ve done and the places you’ve been.

5. Click on Web and app activity inside of History settings box. This opens Activity checks.

6. Click on Switch off under Web & App Activity.

7. In the pop-up window, click Pause.

8. Click on I get it.

Delete all your Google web and app activity

If you’ve blocked Google from collecting your web and app activity, Google still has your data from before. To delete your previous web and app activity, follow these steps:

1. Open Google.com on your desktop or mobile browser, and sign in to your Google account using the button in the upper right corner.

2. Once logged in, click on your user icon in the upper right corner and select Manage your Google Account.

3. Click on Privacy and personalization.

4. Click on The things you’ve done and the places you’ve been.

5. Click on Web and app activity inside of History settings box. This opens Activity checks.

6. Click Manage All Web and app activity near the bottom of the screen.

7. Under Find your activityClick on Remove on the right.

8. The new window will display options to delete your Web and app activity from Last hour, Last day, All the time or one Custom range. To select All the time.

9. A new window will open and ask you to choose the services whose activity you want to delete. Select all is automatically selected, but you can browse and choose the apps or services whose information you want to remove. Click on following when you are satisfied with your selection.

ten. A pop-up window opens that reads Confirm that you want to delete the following activity near the top. Click on
the Remove near the bottom.

11. Click on I get it.

To learn more, find out how to see if Google is following youhow much data Google collectsand how hide where you go from Maps. You can also automatically delete your Google history.