Home Web information US joins 55 nations in setting new global internet rules

US joins 55 nations in setting new global internet rules


WASHINGTON, April 28 (Reuters) – The United States and 55 other countries on Thursday signed a political pledge to impose rules for the internet based on democratic values, at a time when the United States accuses Russia of being the origin of Internet disruptions. of its increasing attacks on Ukraine.

The pledge, called the “Declaration for the Future of the Internet” – the first effort of its kind – protects human rights, promotes the free flow of information, protects user privacy and establishes rules for a growing global digital economy among steps to counter what two Biden administration officials called a “dangerous new model” of internet policy from countries like Russia and China.

The United States is witnessing a global trend of rising digital authoritarianism, with countries like Russia acting to suppress free speech, censor independent news sites, interfere with elections, promote disinformation and deprive their citizens of other human rights, the officials said.

Join now for FREE unlimited access to Reuters.com


“Look at what Russia is doing, some of the actions China is taking, and I think we see that as a response to these kinds of ‘splinternet’ tendencies from a number of authoritarian countries around the world,” the one of the officials said, referring to a characterization of the internet as splintering and divisive due to various factors, such as politics.

Since its invasion of Ukraine, Russia has launched cyberattacks, including hacking into a satellite internet provider’s network at the start of the invasion. Administration officials said the new effort is not an attempt to fight cyber warfare.

The statement is a modified version of last year’s White House efforts to rally a coalition of democracies around a vision of an open and free web.

Countries joining the United States are Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, UK and Ukraine.

The effort will be launched virtually at the White House on Thursday by Biden’s national security adviser, Jake Sullivan, at 7:30 a.m. ET (11:30 GMT).

Join now for FREE unlimited access to Reuters.com


Reporting by Nandita Bose in Washington; Editing by Leslie Adler

Our standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.